Smoking Stick or SmokeStik? Electronic Cigarette Review

Posted by E Cigarette Reviews | Electronic Cigarette Reviews | Friday 11 June 2010 7:57 pm

 SmokeStik Electronic Cigarettes Review - Use Coupon Code: CigaretteReviews 

SmokeStik electronic cigarettes are a brand of vaporizers with the classic cig-a-like design. They boast about their disposable cartomizers, touting them as best in the industry and capable of delivering up to 200 puffs of vapor before needing to be replaced. SmokeStik has a few different models to choose from. Depending on your style they offer the sleek stainless steel Hendu Elite, MaxxQ, Halligan, Pitbull, and Pink starter kits or $74.95, their Jet starter Kit for $59.95, The Premium Starter Kit for $54.95, and the lesser equipped Intro Starter Kit for $39.95. The pricing isn’t the most expensive for cig-a-like style starter kits considering what you get, but it is in the upper range.  All models include with the exception of the Intro Kit come with:

  • 2 lithium ion batteries
  • 1 USB cord charger
  • 1 AC (regular wall socket)/USB adapter
  • 1 Car USB adapter
  • 3 cartomizers: 1 High Tobacco, 1 Medium Tobacco, and 1 Medium Menthol
  • 1 User’s manual
  • 1 Carrying case (only available with internet orders)
  • 1 Keepsake box

The Intro Kit is completely no-frills. For $39.95 you get:

  • 1White lithium ion battery
  • 2 Cartomizers (Your choice of either: 2 Medium Tobacco, 2 Medium Menthol, or ! of each)
  • 1 USB cord charger
  • 1 User’s Manual
  • 1 hard carry case

 

Smoking Stick or SmokeStik? Electronic Cigarette Review

SmokeStik’s Jet Starter Kit

Smoking Stick or SmokeStik? Electronic Cigarette Review

Different kits come with different color batteries

 

The Hardware

Smokestik has been out for several years now. In the beginning they were known for having very high quality hardware, which they did in fact have. While they still use high quality parts to build their e cigs, the rest of the industry has caught up. SmokeStiks are still very durable and deliver good amounts of vapor, but they do not have the edge that they used to. Having said the quality is not an issue. They are still among the top brands in terms of battery quality (the more expensive kits come with  250 mAh batteries which will hold a charge for quite a long time), vapor delivery, and durability.  The cartomizerss are rated at 200 puffs each, which was about right during our test. We had over 20 cartomizers for the review and did not get a single dud in the batch. Again, this is a good sign as it shows that Smokestik is still purchasing better materials for their devices, and keeping up with brands like Blu and V2. The different finishes are a highly welcomed addition. We vaped with Jet Black, Pink, and  the metallic finished Pitbull batteries. All lasted through heavy days of vaping, delivered voltage evenly, and looked great doing it. The two piece devices screw and unscrew easily and hold together well. We literally did not have any hardware issues while testing the products. It was good to see that there were only improvements in the hardware between this review and our last, as some cig-a-like brands that SmokeStik used to compete  have lost their focus on quality materials over the last two years. While the established brand improved several fell short and we are glad to see that SmokeStik is not among these companies.

Smoking Stick or SmokeStik? Electronic Cigarette Review

Vapor and Flavor

We already discussed tat the devices deliver vapor very well. Now its time to go over the results of our taste test. Smokestik offers six flavors: Tobacco, Menthol, Cherry, Vanilla, Strawberry and Cappuccino. Each flavor is available without any nicotine at all, or in mild, medium, or strong to suite your needs and cravings. If you prefer a longer lasting cartomizer order the XL cartos as they have more liquid.  The flavors are average to good. To be honest none stand out exceptionally, however they all taste just fine. This sin’t necessarily a knock on the brand as the flavors are adequate, but adequate is the best word that we can come up with. We hope to see more mixing and blending from SmokeStik in the future.

The Verdict

Smokestik makes an all around good e cigarette. They are perfect for beginners, but deliver enough vapor to satisfy an experienced vaper or to fill in for a while in between more elaborate PVs and mods. The price is on the higher side but in this case you are getting a well-built device that functions reliably. In our opinion that does represent value, even though there are less expensive options. The flavors are good enough to get you started, but do lack the variety offered by a few other competitors in the cig-a-like category. All in all we would recommend Smokestik to anyone looking to give vapor a try or looking for a backup e cig to keep around the house, or in the car or office.

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 4.0/5 (3 votes cast)
Smoking Stick or SmokeStik? Electronic Cigarette Review, 4.0 out of 5 based on 3 ratings

16 Comments »

  1. Comment by bob thornton — June 12, 2010 @ 12:24 am

    I think the value difference is huge between the 2 companies you menthioned above. The Smoking stick was what i first tried because I thought I was buying a smokestik and was not very happy with the product at all, after contacting smokestik in error explaining my problems, they were very helpful and informative. I bought a smokestik Hendu and was extremely happy with the whole starter kit. I am not here to bash companies, but, there really is no comparison in both product quality, value and customer service between them. I will stay with the original Smokestik as I am sure anyone else who tries both brands would do. I must commend you on this article being very informative and not biased. That is hard to find in this day of paid advertising. Cheers!!

  2. Comment by admin — June 12, 2010 @ 11:03 am

    Bob Thanks for your comment!

    Our writers are dedicated to providing quality information about the brands we review. We are very passionate about electronic cigarettes and hope we can help people make the right decision on which brands are right for them. With an influx of electronic cigarette brands we feel it’s our duty to provide quality information to our readers. We commend you on your comment! You provided value to our readers and hope you continue to follow our articles in the future. Cheers!!

    If you are on Twitter please consider following us at http://twitter.com/BluCigarette. We also started a facebook page at http://www.facebook.com/pages/Cigarette-Review/102474083134780. We know more about Electronic cigarettes then technology but we are trying to keep up with the time. :-)

  3. Comment by Anthony Kiss — June 14, 2010 @ 9:52 am

    I have tried a bunch & they seem to be all the same. (Smokestick included) What you are paying for is the profit. All electronic cigarette starter kits are made in China. Some scammers assemble some parts in the US & claim : “Made in USA”.
    Most kits cost around $20 or less in china. Assume some shipping & markup & you should be in the $40 range retail. Anything more & you are getting ripped off. I have paid $150 for the smokingeverywhere at a mall & i have paid $90 for the smokestik. I still feel like i got screwed.
    Basically, try to find a brand that is distributed widely & they have retail stores near you carrying the cartridges at a reasonable price.
    Do a search on Craigslist or kijiji and find someone close to you….

  4. Comment by admin — June 15, 2010 @ 7:28 pm

    Anthony thank you for your comment! I agree that some brand are more expensive then others. We are actually working on an article now about the most inexpensive electronic cigs. One thing I think you may be missing when you figure how much an electronic cigarettes should cost or any product for that matter is the cost for customer service and employees for the company. Most consumer electronics have a big markup so I don’t think all electronic cigarette brands over charge. I do agree some brands over charge however. Again thanks so much for your comment. We hope you find our articles helpful!

  5. Comment by Randy — June 16, 2010 @ 12:54 pm

    Smoking Stick is the second brand I’ve tried, after ordering my automated order 10 days early and changing the dose to medium, a week after I recieved that shipment, another shipment came with the high dose and they charged me an additional fourty bucks! When I contacted customer service, I was told to seal up the envelope and send it back, when I told him it was illegal to do that first he argued that it wasn’t and then said “well everyone does it”. I asked for a postage paid envelope to send them back and was told by him and then a poorly educated supervisor named Christine, that I would have to pay to send it back and the 5 dollar shipping charge that was on the order would NOT be refunded, so I am paying 10 bucks to send back a 35 dollar order that was THIER screw up, not mine!
    I have put a dispute on the charge, notified my postmaster of the illegal advice (I have it on tape), and cancelled all future offers. What idiots, I’m the chief intensivist of a cardio-thoracic unit (heart attacks and lung cancer) and was trying different brands to see if it would be a good idea for patients that are smokers…boy did they screw up. I have seen several reviews on this company and none of them are good. Try ELUMA cigs instead, better draw, cheaper refills and better customer service.

  6. Comment by admin — June 16, 2010 @ 6:45 pm

    Hi Randy,

    Thank you for your comment. While we try to be biased when writing our electronic cigarette articles users typically let us know which e cigarette brands are better than others. I’m sorry to hear about your bad customer service experience with Smoking Stick. I must say I was unaware it’s illegal to return a package to a company. Do you mean they asked you to seal it back up and have the shipper return the package as if you refused to accept the package? If that’s the case then I agree that is a shady practice. I hope some of our reviews help you choose other brands to recommend to your patients. We try to make sure users understand that no one brand is perfect for everyone. Users tend to figure out which e cigarette brands they like best and stick with them. We will do some research on ELUMA Electronic Cigs and try to do a review on them. Thanks for mentioning the brand. We are always looking for brands to review based on user feedback. In fact we reviewed Smoking Stick because a user asked for the review. If you ever want to write an article about the effects of smoking cigarettes and how e cigarettes could help users cut down or quit please let us know we would be happy to post it!

    Regards,
    CigaretteReviews.org

  7. Comment by john — June 27, 2010 @ 8:05 pm

    You couldn’t find smoking stick’s website because they don’t sell through the main store. They sell as one of those “free trial” scams and you’d be a fool to touch that garbage

  8. Comment by admin — June 28, 2010 @ 12:21 pm

    Hi John,

    Thank you for your comment and words of advice. We didn’t do much research on a free trial offer with Smoking Stick. We agree that brands that use the free trial tactic are not worth it unless you read the fine print and agree with what they are truly offering. To us the free trial offers on the internet feed off users that are quick to jump on free offers without researching the true cost behind the offer. Also, they usually make it difficult for the user to find the actual terms of the deal which makes it even more scammy to us. We found the actual store located at store.smokingstick.com. We did take a look at some site though and found a lot of upset customers. I found the following on one of those sites that might help you or anyone else trying to find a good contact at Smoking Stick.

    “Any customer service need, contact me direct at Tony@SmokingStick.com or please call customer service at 866.950.6351 Tony”

    Hope this helps!
    CigaretteReviews.org

  9. Comment by Nancy Holewinski — July 18, 2010 @ 12:11 pm

    Hi,
    Could you please tell me how to get in contact about my smoke stick
    billing? I can’t find anything about billing for my smoke stick.

    Thank You:

    nancyholewinski@gmail.com

  10. Comment by Joan — August 31, 2010 @ 8:02 am

    Well I guess my comment is the same as Randy’s, the customer service person also told me to reseal the package and write return to sender. couldn’t believe they said that and was surprised to see they are still doing it.

  11. Comment by Roscoe — October 10, 2010 @ 6:00 pm

    Be aware, I order the starter kit from smokingstick but than changed my mind and cancel my order with in 3 hours and they replied that my order was cancel. but they still charged my credit card $9.94. Wrote back to them and they said the $9.94 was processing fee non refundable. How can they say that when it didn’t ship out to me, it wasn’t even process. NOT A TRUSTED COMPANY TO DEAL WITH.

  12. Comment by Chris — November 4, 2010 @ 5:38 pm

    I absolutely love electronic cigarettes. I have tried quite a few and I like my Smoke Stick the best. Has anyone else ever tried the Smoke Stick?

    Smoking Stick is a SCAM!!!

  13. Comment by Dale — November 30, 2010 @ 6:42 pm

    For Chris: I’ve been using SmokeStik for a couple of months now. I find them pretty good. It seems to be working for me. If there was any one tip I could offer it would be to buy the “cartomizers” as opposed to the cartridges. They are much more like a real cigarette; the difference is quite noticeable. They’re more expensive, however – go figure!

    Just my two cents.

  14. Comment by admin — November 30, 2010 @ 8:58 pm

    Hi Dale,

    Thanks for this update on SmokeStik! From the reviews we’ve received so far it looks like SmokeStik is the best option between Smoking Stick & SmokeStick. Please keep us updated on what’s working best for you with the SmokeStik brand.

    Thanks again,
    CigaretteReviews.org

  15. Comment by Helen — April 1, 2011 @ 8:53 am

    The customer service at Smoking Stick is the worst I have ever encountered. I get the same women each time and she could care less about my questions. They are by far the worst for customer service ever. I am trying to purchase a replacement atomizer and battery and they have supposedly been on back order since LAST YEAR with none in sight. She refuses to allow me to speak to another customer service rep and have been dealing with her with zero results. Would never recommend them

  16. Comment by Steve — February 24, 2012 @ 2:06 pm

    I have been using SmokeStik for about 2 years now and I have never had a bad experience. When I was having issues with my SmokeStik after about a year (I think it was past the 1 year point), they replaced my battery and sent me an extra atomizer. The customer service is amazing and the product is solid. It’s a win-win.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

*